Wine buying list: Discover Rioja wine

 rioja wein gentlemens journey

Living la vida Rioja! Without Ricky Martin, but with a thirst for knowledge, it goes on a long-distance glass journey to Spain. The Rioja region is reinventing itself, and has exciting bottle dates in the shopping cart not only for aficionados, but especially for beginners. Not only from the well-known red wines, also white flirts entice. In this wine buying list, I present some personal matches – and info around the Spanish wine region.



I have already been to Spain, but the Rioja region and I had not yet had a date. Of course, I was aware of the wines, but still no contact, so it was urgently time to start a glass trip to the famous Spanish wine region. The so quite incidentally reinvents itself, without, however, the traditional culture to disregard. But one goes also times new ways, young winegrowers take over, file at the taste dress code. I brought a small selection of Rioja wine into my tasting arena and did what every winemaker I ask how I can learn more about wine recommends: tasted it. But first a few facts around the wine region, because a look behind the famous region is worthwhile to get an insight around the wines.


rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

The cultivation area

In a nutshell, DOCa Rioja has three areas, each with its own viticultural characteristics – Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa and Rioja Oriental (called Rioja Baja until 2018). The geographical conditions have helped to form a natural region that is perfectly delineated and distinguishable from its surroundings. The 65,326 hectares of vineyards protected by the Denomination of Origin are distributed among Rioja Alta (27,347 ha), Rioja Oriental (24,590 ha) and Rioja Alavesa (13,389 ha).

One hundred kilometers separate the westernmost town, Haro, from the easternmost, Alfaro. The vineyards are located in a valley with a maximum width of about 40 kilometers and rise in stepped terraces up to 700 meters in altitude. A total of 144 municipalities are part of the DOCa (118 in La Rioja, 18 in Álava and 8 in Navarre) because “their soils are suitable for growing grapes of the required quality”. The entire region benefits from the meeting of two contrasting climates (Atlantic and Mediterranean) with mild temperatures and an annual rainfall of just over 400 liters per square meter – ideal conditions for growing grapes.


rioja wein gentlemens journey

Handmade and artisan: there is more history in Rioja wines than just a label.


Rioja soils are also very suitable for quality viticulture because they have a balanced structure of sand, clay and loam, slightly alkaline and low in nutrients, with moderate amounts of water in summer. Overall, the wine region is characterized by diverse soils (calcareous clay, ferruginous clay and alluvium are the three main ones) and microclimates (orientation of the vineyard, protection from wind, etc.) that give the wines unique characteristics. Depending on the use of different grape varieties and cultivation methods, this allows a wide range of wines with differentiated personality within a perfectly recognizable common identity.


rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

The grape varieties

There are currently 14 grape varieties authorized in Rioja. For red wines, these are Tempranillo, Garnacha tinta, Graciano, Mazuelo and Maturana tinta. The white varieties are Viura, Malvasía, Garnacha Blanca, Tempranillo Blanco, Maturana Blanca, Turruntés, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Verdejo. You hear many of them also for the first time? Not at all. It makes me even more curious to see how they taste.


rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Gentlemens Journey

The maturation

One of the differentiating traits of Rioja wines is their great aging potential, a characteristic that only great wines possess. Through a proper aging process, in which oak plays a crucial role, the wine undergoes a beneficial evolution that highlights its value and gives it new aromatic and flavor characteristics.

Rioja wines have the elegance, originality and character of great wines – something that can only be achieved when, over time, grape varieties, terroir and winemaking techniques have merged. Given the viticultural diversity of the region, wineries traditionally proceeded by blending grapes and wines from different grape varieties, vineyards and municipalities, seeking the complementary characteristics that would elevate their respective qualities to perfection in the final product.

This is undoubtedly the best known type of Rioja, although wineries are offering an increasingly wide range of styles – with wines of great concentration and expressive fruit from specific, individual vineyard plots.


rioja wein gentlemens journey

Vines like these could tell a lot of stories. If they don’t speak fluent Rioja, who will?


The wine categories

Depending on the traditional aging process, Rioja wine can be divided into four categories, which can be distinguished by the four different back labels. The Control Board assigns the labels numbered to the wines that meet its quality and typicity requirements:

Generic

This category guarantees the origin and vintage of the wine. They are usually first or second year wines that maintain their original freshness and fruitiness. This category may also include other wines that do not fit into the categories of Crianza, Reserva or Gran Reserva because they have undergone a maturation process that is not certified by the Control Board.

Crianzas

Crianzas are wines that are at least in the third year, after having been aged in oak barrels for at least one year. For white wines, the minimum aging time in barrel is six months.

Reserva

These are carefully selected wines with a minimum aging period of three years, distributed between oak barrel and bottle. Of these, at least one year must take place in the barrel, followed and supplemented by bottle aging of at least six months. For white wines, the minimum aging period is two years, of which at least six months in barrel.

Gran Reserva

These are carefully selected wines with a minimum aging period of three years, distributed between oak barrel and bottle. Of these, at least one year must take place in the barrel, followed and supplemented by bottle aging of at least six months. For white wines, the minimum aging period is two years, of which at least six months in barrel.




rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

brigaldara wein weingut valpolicella gentlemens journey

Wine tip 1: Rioja Roda Reserva


rioja roda reserva rioja wein gentlemens journey

Four letters, one opinion. Beginners should try the Roda Rioja, it is a good starting wine for the wine journey.


The famous Rioja region is reinventing itself without forgetting its roots. The first insider tip is something for friends of the very dry humor. The Spanish winery Bodegas Roda is located in the middle of the famous Rioja region. It was founded in 1987 by Mario Rotllant and Carmen Daurella and named after their last names. Outstanding quality was the goal of the two, which is continued today by principal winemaker Agustín Santolaya. The resulting wines are ready to drink and at the same time very long-lived. Through traditional Rioja winemaking methods, as well as a sustainable, gentle cultivation method and reliance on old vines, the winery team achieves excellent results. On 21 plots, grapes are closely monitored and regularly tasted before being harvested by hand and respectfully processed. Typical varieties include Tempranillo, Graciano and Garnacha.


rioja roda reserva rioja wein gentlemens journey

Restrained appearance, but best tasting pattern behavior.


The reserva in the nameof this Bodegas Roda stands for Champions League, and indeed the red wine reminds me of very elegant loafers. It smells of smoked cherry ham, cedar, lilac, violet and caramel, in between always comes through a hint of BBQ notes. All the flavors seem frame-stitched into shape, very straight. On the feeling of long-lasting angularity at the back of the palate you have to get involved, but is rewarded with real conversation! Bodegas Rioja Reserve, Price: 29 Euros, via www.hawesko.de


Wine tip 2: Ansa Bodega 202


ansa bodega 202 rioja wein gentlemens journey

The label is infatuation, the content bristles with character. Those who appreciate it will have a lot of fun.


The outfit of the Bodegas relies on an elegant-creative dress code that the winemakers continue in the bottle. Ansa gives the class of the oldest vineyards (70+ years old, some centenary) in the glass, located mainly in the town of Elvillar. The red wine (with a ticket for around 40 euros) is not mainstream television, but an exciting evening of film that you should get involved to understand the idea. But then is rewarded with real conversation material. Tempranillo grapes from Rioja Alavesa, one of three growing areas in the protected region, are aged for 14 months in French oak barrels, which gives the wine its very dry humor. It smells fruity, you feel as if someone nearby is inviting you to a barbecue. Immediately images of a relaxed but classy cut linen suit and a terrace come to my mind.


ansa bodega 202 rioja wein gentlemens journey

Ansa Bodega 202 or: point winner in terms of materiality.


The opening is peppery, edgy, settles strikingly on the tongue. Like a catwalk of dark fruit, the connoisseur sits frontrow. Shortly after the first sip, currants then put themselves in the spotlight. Not mainstream, but that’s what makes (glass) travel so interesting. Ansa Bodega 202, Price: 42 Euros, via www.bodega202.com


Wine tip 3: Quirus Rioja Alta (Tempranillo blanco)


This white wine secret tip feels comfortable even with the summer mood temperatures that are slowly emerging in our country. White wine from Rioja? Yes, the red wine location also has some fine Blanco checks for pleasure tours in the bag. Like the Quirus Rioja Alta from the Tempranillo Blanco grape variety from bodegas quiroga de pablo. Already the straw yellow color with green reflections sets first flirts.


quirus rioja wein gentlemens journey

A cozy white wine with exciting edges: the Quirus Rioja.


The Tempranillo Blanco, aged in stainless steel tanks, is not a wine that walks down the street in a gorilla stance and goes into the nose, it takes it a touch more reserved. But good so! For this, aromas of melon, pineapple, lime are so finely woven together in a mineral suit that you really have fun discovering. Another friend of dry humor, but one should share curious. The ticket to the patronage is available for about 20 euros. Quirus Rioja Alta Tempranillo blanco, Price: 16 Euros, more via www.bodegasquiroga.com



Wine tip 4: Cerrado del Castillo


cerrado del castillo rioja wein gentlemens journey

Rioja Cerrado or in short – a nice tasty piece of conversation.


cerrado del castillo rioja wein gentlemens journey

Spain Safari. Rioja Cerrado is elegantly cut like its label, but also has a lot of temperament.

Why we have here king class in the glass? The wine is made not only in old vineyards of the walled castle area, but also only in exceptional years when the harvest reaches its maximum. The Tempranillo vines are up to 40 years old, so there is quite a bit of history in the bottle. Therefore also here: Give time. Let in. Smell, let it come, taste, wait again, taste again. Discover aromas little by little. And the discovery tour is conducted very stylishly. At the beginning, a spicy, deep dark carpet is rolled out directly, knitted from intense notes of red fruits. Don’t get stuck there, there’s everything from cherry to currant. Even with a pinch of chocolate in the approach. And the important thing is: it should taste good! The extraordinary red wine is present in the mouth for a long time, not a troublemaker, but someone who confidently knows how to express his character. And that’s what makes wine exciting, isn’t it? Rioja Cerrado del Castillo, Price 44 Euros, via www.riojawine.shop


Wine tip 5: Rioa La Pera (blanco)


rioja la pera rioja wein gentlemens journey

Dress code: please drink. La Pera is a white wine that knows how to behave.


We continue our glass journey through the Spanish wine region. As mentioned, it’s famous for its characteristic red wines, but it also has a team of charmers in white jerseys. After all, one sometimes has female visitors who share my wine quirk, and a relaxed white wine can’t be missing. The white Tempranillo grape was first discovered in 1988 in the region around Murillo del Río Leza, and it tastes very special. Quite as wild as the label with a bicycling ox and animal company suggests, ain’t the La Pera Blanco Rioja from the Hacienda El Ternero . Imagine rather an eastern salad with chinos and summer shirt, which does not want to stand out at all in the nose at the beginning. But at the first kiss of welcome, La Pera then brings out casually swirled aromas of apple, banana and citrus that really dance beautifully across the tongue. Just not a cheesy mating dance, but like someone really feeling it. It also reminds me of really nice apple-banana iced tea – but perfect for summer. And all that for under 10 euros.


rioja la pera rioja wein gentlemens journey

Shades of White: The Rioja La Pera is simply an awesome piece of grape fabric.


Fancy a casual fun white wine, which has a really uniques, but super charming label, and certainly makes all fellow connoisseurs curious? Then get on your bike! Rioja La Pera, Price: 10 Euros, via www.wein-port.de


Josephinenhütte by Kurt Josef Zalto weingläser
© Josephinenhütte

Rioja wine: more infos

Even more interesting facts about the exciting wines from the Rioja region, tips, stories and liquid inspiration can be found on the official site www.riojawine.com

rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja
Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?

Weinkaufsliste: Rioja Wein entdecken

rioja wein gentlemens journey

Living la vida Rioja! Ohne Ricky Martin, aber mit viel Wissensdurst geht es auf Fern-Glas-Reise nach Spanien. Die Region Rioja erfindet sich neu, und hat nicht nur für Liebhaber, sondern gerade auch Einsteiger spannende Flaschen-Dates im Warenkorb. Nicht nur von den bekannten Rotweinen, auch weiße Flirts locken. In dieser Weinkaufsliste stelle ich einige persönliche Matches vor – und Infos rund um das spanische Weinanbaugebiet.



Ich war zwar schon in Spanien, die Region Rioja und ich hatten allerdings noch kein Date. Natürlich waren mir die Weine ein Begriff, aber noch keinen Kontakt, daher war es dringend an der Zeit, mal eine Glas-Reise in die berühmte spanische Wein-Region zu starten. Die sich so ganz nebenbei neu erfindet, ohne allerdings die traditionelle Kultur außer Acht zu lassen. Aber man geht auch mal neue Wege, junge Winzer übernehmen, feilen am Geschmacks-Dresscode. Ich hab eine kleine Auswahl von Rioja Wein in meine Tasting-Arena geholt und das gemacht, was mir eigentlich jeder Winzer empfiehlt, den ich frage, wie ich mehr vom Wein lernen kann: probiert. Zuerst aber mal ein paar Fakten rund um das Weinanbaugebiet, denn ein Blick hinter die berühmte Region lohnt, um einen Einblick rund um die Weine zu bekommen.


rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

Das Anbaugebiet

Kurz und knapp: Die DOCa Rioja hat drei Gebiete mit jeweils eigenen Weinbau-Eigenschaften – Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa und Rioja Oriental (bis 2018 Rioja Baja genannt). Die geografischen Voraussetzungen haben dazu beigetragen, eine natürliche Region zu bilden, die von der Umgebung perfekt abgegrenzt und unterscheidbar ist. Die 65.326 Hektar Weinberge, die durch die Herkunftsbezeichnung geschützt sind, verteilen sich auf die Rioja Alta (27.347 ha), die Rioja Oriental (24.590 ha) und die Rioja Alavesa (13.389 ha).

Hundert Kilometer trennen die westlichste Stadt, Haro, von der östlichsten, Alfaro. Die Weinberge liegen in einem maximal rund 40 Kilometer breiten Tal und steigen in stufenförmigen Terrassen auf bis zu 700 Höhenmeter an. Insgesamt 144 Gemeinden gehören zur DOCa (118 in La Rioja, 18 in Álava und 8 in Navarra), da „ihre Böden für den Anbau von Trauben mit der erforderlichen Qualität geeignet sind“. Die gesamte Region profitiert vom Zusammentreffen zweier gegensätzlicher Klimazonen (Atlantik und Mittelmeer) mit milden Temperaturen und einer jährlichen Niederschlagsmenge von etwas mehr als 400 Litern pro Quadratmeter – idealen Bedingungen für den Weinbau.


rioja wein gentlemens journey

Handarbeit und Handwerkskunst: In Rioja Weinen steckt mehr Geschichte als nur ein Etikett.


Die Böden der Rioja eignen sich auch deshalb sehr gut für den Qualitätsweinbau, da sie eine ausgewogene Struktur aus Sand, Lehm und Ton aufweisen, leicht alkalisch und nährstoffarm sind und im Sommer in moderaten Mengen über Wasser verfügen. Insgesamt zeichnet sich die Weinregion durch vielfältige Böden (kalkhaltiger Ton, eisenhaltiger Lehm und Schwemmland sind die drei wesentlichen) und Mikroklimata (Ausrichtung des Weinbergs, Schutz vor Wind usw.) aus, die den Weinen einzigartige Eigenschaften verleihen. Abhängig von der Verwendung verschiedener Rebsorten und Anbaumethoden ermöglicht dies eine breite Palette von Weinen mit differenzierter Persönlichkeit innerhalb einer perfekt erkennbaren gemeinsamen Identität.


rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

Die Rebsorten

Es gibt aktuell 14 in der Rioja zugelassene Rebsorten. Bei Rotweinen sind dies Tempranillo, Garnacha tinta, Graciano, Mazuelo und Maturana tinta. Die weißen Rebsorten sind Viura, Malvasía, Garnacha Blanca, Tempranillo Blanco, Maturana Blanca, Turruntés, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Verdejo. Ihr hört viele davon auch zum ersten Mal? Kein Ding. Mich macht das auch umso neugieriger, wie die dann wohl schmecken.


rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Gentlemens Journey

Die Reifung

Einer der differenzierenden Wesenszüge der Rioja-Weine ist ihr großes Reifepotenzial – ein Merkmal, das nur große Weine besitzen. Durch einen angemessenen Reifungsprozess, in dessen Verlauf das Eichenholz eine entscheidende Rolle spielt, erfährt der Wein eine vorteilhafte Entwicklung, die seinen Wert herausstellt und ihm neue aromatische und geschmackliche Eigenschaften verleiht.

Die Rioja-Weine haben die Eleganz, die Originalität und den Charakter großer Weine – etwas, das sich nur erreichen lässt, wenn im Laufe der Zeit die Rebsorten, das Terroir und die Weinbereitungsverfahren miteinander verschmolzen sind. Angesichts der weinbaulichen Vielfältigkeit der Region gingen die Kellereien traditionell so vor, dass sie Trauben und Weine verschiedener Rebsorten, Weinberge und Gemeinden miteinander verschnitten, um so die komplementären Eigenschaften zu suchen, die im Endprodukt ihre jeweiligen Qualitäten zur Vollkommenheit erheben.

Dies ist zweifellos der bekannteste Rioja-Typ, wenngleich die Kellereien eine immer größere Bandbreite an Stilen anbieten – mit Weinen von großer Konzentration und ausdrucksstarker Frucht aus bestimmten, einzelnen Weinbergsparzellen.


rioja wein gentlemens journey

Reben wie diese könnten eine Menge Geschichten erzählen. Wenn die nicht fließend Rioja sprechen, wer dann?


Die Wein-Kategorien

Abhängig vom traditionellen Reifungsprozess kann man Rioja-Wein in vier Kategorien einteilen, die sich anhand der vier unterschiedlichen Rückenetiketten unterscheiden lassen. Der Kontrollrat vergibt die Etiketten nummeriert an die Weine, die seinen Qualitäts- und Typizitätsanforderungen entsprechen:

Generisch

Diese Kategorie garantiert die Herkunft und den Jahrgang des Weins. Es handelt sich in der Regel um Weine im ersten oder zweiten Jahr, die ihre ursprüngliche Frische und Fruchtigkeit behalten. Diese Kategorie kann auch andere Weine umfassen, die sich nicht in die Kategorien Crianza, Reserva oder Gran Reserva einordnen lassen, weil sie einen Reifeprozess durchlaufen haben, der nicht vom Kontrollrat zertifiziert ist.

Crianzas

Crianzas sind Weine, die mindestens im dritten Jahr sind, nachdem sie mindestens ein Jahr im Eichenfass gelagert wurden. Bei Weißweinen beträgt die Mindestreifezeit im Fass sechs Monate.

Reserva

Hier handelt es sich um sorgfältig ausgewählte Weine mit einer Mindestreifezeit von drei Jahren, die sich zwischen Eichenfass und Flasche verteilt. Davon muss sich mindestens ein Jahr im Fass vollziehen, gefolgt und ergänzt durch eine Flaschenreife von mindestens sechs Monaten. Bei Weißweinen beträgt die Mindestreifezeit zwei Jahre, davon mindestens sechs Monate im Fass.

Gran Reserva

Hier handelt es sich um sorgfältig ausgewählte Weine mit einer Mindestreifezeit von drei Jahren, die sich zwischen Eichenfass und Flasche verteilt. Davon muss sich mindestens ein Jahr im Fass vollziehen, gefolgt und ergänzt durch eine Flaschenreife von mindestens sechs Monaten. Bei Weißweinen beträgt die Mindestreifezeit zwei Jahre, davon mindestens sechs Monate im Fass.




rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja

brigaldara wein weingut valpolicella gentlemens journey

Wein-Tipp 1: Rioja Roda Reserva


rioja roda reserva rioja wein gentlemens journey

Vier Buchstaben, eine Meinung. Einsteiger sollten den Roda Rioja probieren, er ist ein guter Ausgangswein für die Wein-Reise.


Die berühmte Region Rioja erfindet sich gerade neu, ohne ihre Wurzeln zu vergessen. Der erste Geheimtipp ist was für Freunde des ganz trockenen Humors. Das spanische Weingut Bodegas Roda liegt mitten in der bekannten Rioja-Region. Es wurde im Jahr 1987 von Mario Rotllant und Carmen Daurella gegründet und nach den Nachnamen der beiden benannt. Herausragende Qualität war das Ziel der beiden, das heute von Hauptwinzer Agustín Santolaya weitergeführt wird. Die entstehenden Weine sind trinkreif und zugleich sehr langlebig. Durch traditionelle Rioja-Methoden der Winzerei sowie eine nachhaltige, schonende Anbauweise und den Verlass auf alte Rebstöcke erzielt das Team des Weingutes hervorragende Ergebnisse. Auf 21 Parzellen werden die Trauben genau überwacht und regelmäßig verkostet, bevor sie von Hand geerntet und respektvoll weiterverarbeitet werden. Zu den typischen Sorten gehören Tempranillo, Graciano und Garnacha.


rioja roda reserva rioja wein gentlemens journey

Zurückhaltender Auftritt, aber bestes Verkostungsmusterverhalten.


Das Reserva im Namen des Bodegas Roda steht für Champions League, und in der Tat erinnert mich der Rotwein an sehr elegante Loafer. Es duftet nach geräucherter Kirsch-Schinken, Zedernholz, Flieder, Veilchen und Karamell, zwischendurch kommt immer eine Spur BBQ Noten durch. Alle Aromen wirken wie Rahmengenäht in Form gehalten, sehr straight. Auf das Gefühl der lange anhaltenden Kantigkeit hinten am Gaumen muss man sich einlassen, wird aber mit echtem Gesprächsstoff belohnt! Bodegas Rioja Reserve, Preis: rund 29 Euro, über www.hawesko.de


Wein-Tipp 2: Ansa Bodega 202


ansa bodega 202 rioja wein gentlemens journey

Das Etikett ist Verliebung, der Inhalt strotzt vor Charakter. Wer den zu schätzen weiß, hat viel Spaß.


Das Outfit der Bodegas setzt auf einen elegant-kreativen Dresscode, den die Winzer auch in der Flasche fortsetzen. Ansa gibt die Klasse der ältesten Weinberge (70+ Jahre alt, einige hundertjährig) ins Glas, die hauptsächlich in der Stadt Elvillar liegen. Der Rotwein ist (bei einem Ticket für rund 40 Euro) kein Mainstream-Fernsehen, sondern ein spannender Filmabend, auf den man sich einlassen sollte, um die Idee zu verstehen. Dann aber mit echtem Gesprächs-Stoff belohnt wird. Die Tempranillo-Trauben aus dem Rioja Alavesa, einer von drei Anbaugebieten der geschützten Region, lagern 14 Monate in französischen Eichenfässern, was dem Wein den sehr trockenen Humor verleiht. Es duftet fruchtig, man hat das Gefühl, als ob in der Nähe jemand zum Grillabend einlädt. Mir kommen sofort Bilder eines entspannt aber edel geschnittenen Leinenanzugs und eine Terrasse in den Kopf.


ansa bodega 202 rioja wein gentlemens journey

Ansa Bodega 202 oder: Punktsieger in Sachen Stofflichkeit.


Der Auftakt ist pfeffrig, kantig, legt sich markant auf die Zunge. Wie ein Laufsteg aus dunklen Früchten, der Genießer sitzt Frontrow. Kurz nach dem ersten Schluck stellen sich dann Johannisbeeren ins Scheinwerferlicht. Kein Mainstream, aber erst das macht (Glas)Reisen doch so interessant. Ansa Bodega 202, Preis: etwa 42 Euro, über www.bodega202.com


Wein-Tipp 3: Quirus Rioja Alta (Tempranillo blanco)


Dieser Weßwein-Geheimtipp fühlt sich auch bei den bei uns langsam aufkommenden Sommerlaune-Temperaturen wohl. Weißwein aus Rioja? Ja, die Rotwein-Location hat auch so einige feine Blanco-Schecks für Genuss-Touren im Gepäck. Wie den Quirus Rioja Alta aus der Rebsorte Tempranillo Blanco von bodegas quiroga de pablo. Schon die strohgelbe Farbe mit grünen Reflexen setzt erste Flirts.


quirus rioja wein gentlemens journey

Ein kuschliger Weisswein mit spannenden Ecken und Kanten: der Quirus Rioja.


Der im Edelstahltank ausgebaute Tempranillo Blanco ist kein Wein, der in Gorilla-Haltung über die Straße läuft und in die Nase geht, er lässt es eine Spur zurückhaltender angehen. Aber gut so! Dafür sind Aromen von Melone, Ananas, Limette in einem mineralischen Anzug so fein zusammengewoben, dass man richtig Spaß am Entdecken hat. Ein weiterer Freund des trockenen Humors, den man aber mal neugierig teilen sollte. Das Ticket zur Gönnung gibt es für rund 20 Euro. Quirus Rioja Alta Tempranillo blanco, Preis: etwa 16 Euro, mehr unter www.bodegasquiroga.com



Wein-Tipp 4: Cerrado del Castillo


cerrado del castillo rioja wein gentlemens journey

Rioja Cerrado oder kurz – ein schönes Stück Gesprächsstoff.


cerrado del castillo rioja wein gentlemens journey

Spanien-Safari. Der Rioja Cerrado ist elegant geschnitten wie sein Etikett, hat aber auch viel Temperament.

Warum wir hier Königsklasse im Glas haben? Der Wein wird nicht nur in alten Weinbergen des ummauerten Schlossgebietes hergestellt, sondern auch nur in außergewöhnlichen Jahren, wenn die Ernte ihr Maximum erreicht. Die Tempranillo-Reben sind bis zu 40 Jahre alt, da kommt einiges an Geschichte in die Flasche. Daher auch hier: Zeit geben. Einlassen. Riechen, kommen lassen, probieren, nochmal warten, nochmal probieren. Aromen nach und nach entdecken. Und die Entdeckungstour wird sehr stilvoll geführt. Zu Beginn wird direkt ein würziger, tiefdunkler Teppich ausgerollt, gestrickt aus intensiven Noten von roten Früchten. Nagelt euch da nicht fest, es ist von Kirsche bis Johannisbeere alles dabei. Sogar mit einer Prise Schokolade im Anflug. Und wichtig ist ja: schmecken soll es! Der außergewöhnliche Rotwein ist lange im Mund präsent, kein Unruhestifter, aber jemand, der selbstbewusst weiß, wie er seinen Charakter nach außen trägt. Und sowas macht Wein doch grade spannend, oder? Rioja Cerrado del Castillo, Preis: rund 44 Euro, etwa über www.riojawine.shop


Wein-Tipp 5: Rioa La Pera (blanco)


rioja la pera rioja wein gentlemens journey

Dresscode: bitte trinken. Der La Pera ist ein Weisswein, der Etikette hat und kann.


Weiter geht’s mit der Glas-Reise durch die spanische Weinregion. Die ist wie erwähnt berühmt für ihre charakteristischen Rotweine, hat aber auch Charmebolzen im weißen Trikot im Team. Man hat ja doch auch mal weiblichen Besuch, der meine Wein-Macke teilt, und da darf ein relaxter Weißwein nicht fehlen. Entdeckt wurde die weiße Tempranillo-Rebe erst 1988 in der Region um Murillo del Río Leza, und schmeckt auch ganz besonders. Ganz so wild, wie es das Etikett mit einem Fahrradfahrenden Ochsen und tierischer Begleitung vermuten lässt, ist der La Pera Blanco Rioja von der Hacienda El Ternero aber nicht. Stellt euch eher einen Ostsalat mit Chino und Sommerhemd vor, der in der Nase zu Beginn gar nicht groß auffallen will. Aber beim ersten Begrüßungskuss holt der La Pera dann lässig gezwirbelte Aromen von Apfel, Banane und Zitrusfrüchten hervor, die echt schön quer über die Zunge tanzen. Nur halt kein kitschiger Paarungstanz, sondern wie jemand, der es echt fühlt. Mich erinnert es auch an echt nicen Apfel-Bananen-Eistee – doch perfekt für den Sommer. Und das alles für unter 10 Euro.


rioja la pera rioja wein gentlemens journey

Shades of White: Der Rioja La Pera ist einfach ein geiles Stück Stoff.


Lust auf einen lässigen Spaßmacher-Weißwein bekommen, der ein echt uniques, aber super charmantes Etikett hat, und sicher alle Mitgenießer neugierig macht? Dann ab aufs Rad! Rioja La Pera, Preis: rund 10 Euro, etwa über www.wein-port.de


Josephinenhütte by Kurt Josef Zalto weingläser
© Josephinenhütte

Rioja Wein: mehr Infos

Noch mehr Wissenswertes rund um die spannenden Weine aus der Region Rioja, Tipps, Stories und flüssige Inspiration findet ihr auf der offiziellen Seite www.riojawine.com/de

rioja wein gentlemens journey
© Rioja
Folgen:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Looking for Something?