River dance: cool hotels at a river

papa rhein hotel pool wein gentlemens journey

Hotel by the River: In these four locations, you’ll sit Front Row by the water. Or with wine high up on the rooftop pool overlooking the Rhine. In one of them, gin flows underground. It’s a smooth transition with these secret vacation tips for those built near the water.


You’re not serious. My first thought when I stumbled across the pictures of the Papa Rhein Hotel. The wine focused region in Germany is already dreamlike. And now they’re building a design hotel on the banks, with a bucket list memorial pool on top. Hotel on the river. We don’t need to discuss Instagram potential. But I admit it: I have to go there was my second thought. And because three or better four is a party, I picked out three more, somewhat closer to the fancy hotel on the river. Portugal, Kufstein or Bamberg already on your travel list?



Hotel on the river: check in four times with water view


Papa Rhein, Bingen

I’ve had love at first sip with Palatinate wine many times, already last year came a direct hotel infatuation at first sight, which immediately landed on the bucket list and which now opens its doors again. When I first saw the picture with the view from above on the pool of the Papa Rhine, I was directly flashed. Such a cool spot in the middle of this exciting wine region. You can see yourself right up there, with a glass, wines from the area stored in a large stainless steel vat with ice cubes, and you have probably the coolest tasting imaginable up there with your wine partners in crime. And if there are some really hot wine discoveries, you just go cool off in the pool for a bit. You see: pictures can stir emotions. But back to the facts on the Rhine.


papa rhein hotel pool wein gentlemens journey
©Papa Rhein Hotel

papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

At Papa Rhein, the rooms are called “bunks” or suites and are furnished in a calm, solid and modern design. Real woods, light and soft colors accompany the view of the water and the vineyards.


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Maritime design meets expansive views in the hotel’s other rooms as well.


Directly on the banks of the Rhine, the Papa Rhein Hotel & Spa is a modern shutdown and pleasure harbor to dock. The maritime reference is also continued in the design of architecture, rooms (the bunks and suites) and restaurant. Some berths face the winter harbor, some the legendary Bingen “Mäuseturm” or the vast Rüdesheim Rhine meadows. However, the location is not only a mooring, but with its location also a starting port for ventures in the varied region of the Middle Rhine Valley. Wine lovers can tour the numerous vineyards in the region known for wine and taste wine at the associated estates. There are some treasures waiting, believe me. It’s also worth touring the nearby castles, and don’t worry – there’s no need to fear that history will be dry in the area.


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Beach feeling on the river? At Papa Rhein, that’s part of the house amenities.


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Kitchen tour: The team around top chef Nils Henkel takes care of the culinary needs.

papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey
©Papa Rhein Hotel

papa rhein hotel pool wein gentlemens journey

How much wanderlust can you put into a picture? But with Papa Rhine, the good things are unexpectedly close.


To toast the vacation, you can treat yourself to an Aperol in the beach-style Bootshaus bar, or a Rheinhessen Riesling on the Lido deck with the aforementioned rooftop pool. Already worked up an appetite? No problem! Top chef Nils Henkel creates authentic, modern cuisine at BOOTSHAUS, primarily using products from the region. The wine list also offers special fruit salads from the region. And because goods from all countries have been sailing up the river for generations, an Italian gastronomic concept, LIDO Restaurant & Bar, will also be docking at Papa Rhein Hafen from July 1, 2021. I think the dishes flirt pretty well with the Palatinate wines. But I’ll hopefully find out in person soon.

Papa Rhein Hotel & Spa, stays starting at 120 Euro, more via www.paparheinhotel.de


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Douro 41, Portugal

doura 41 gentlemens journey
© Designhotels

Right on the doorstep, the oldest wine region in the world, and an infinity pool – stop: two panoramic pools from which you can see everything. The vines, the Douro, and of course the way to the next wine tasting. The Doura41 is really washed with all vacation waters. Mixes charming architecture with a direct connection to nature. The prospects for great travel experiences could hardly be better here, could they? No wonder this unusual river hotel is a member of the Association of Design Hotels. And you have to get past a strict doorman to get in.


doura 41 gentlemens journey

Looks like a modern river design castle made of brick and glass. Dreamlike.


doura 41 gentlemens journey

From the indoor pool, the transition to the river outside seems smooth.


hotel am fluss Douro 41
© Douro 41

hotel am fluss Douro 41
© Douro 41

João Pedro Serôdio’s architecture is secondary to one thing: unobstructed views of the river. Slate and gray dominate the 52 rooms and suites, clean lines everywhere. You can enjoy the treats from the wine list at the À Terra Bar & Canteen wine bar or the Porto Club with its fireplace. So you can still save until winter. Yeay!

Douro 41, stays starting at 145 Euro with breakfast, more via www.douro41.com



Nepomuk, Bamberg

hotel am fluss hotel nepomuk
© Thomas Paal, Eckerts

My best friend now lives in Bamberg. Not a bad decision, the city has a lot going for it. If you like to check into a hotel on the river, you don’t necessarily have to go straight to London or Budapest – Upper Franconia also throws a nifty ace into the river quartet. The Nepomuk Hotel with a total of 23 rooms is located in the middle of the Altstatt. Depending on the weather, dreamlike photo motifs are likely to succeed there. If this view is not inviting?


hotel am fluss hotel nepomuk
© Thomas Paal, Eckerts
hotel am fluss hotel nepomuk
© Thomas Paal, Eckerts

And because it flows so well, you can not only spend the night by the water, but also dine in the adjoining restaurant Das Eckerts above the Regnitz. Or have breakfast. Franconian cuisine with Franconian prices. View: free of charge. Fair deal. And you can hardly get any closer to the soothingly lapping water. Perhaps a room will be available at short notice at the Nepomuk the next time the freshly baked family is available to visit.

Hotel Nepomuk, Bamberg, stays starting at 128 Euro, more infos via www.hotel-nepomuk.de



Boutiquehotel Träumerei, Austria

hotel am fluss Auracher Löchl
© Auracher Löchl

If you are looking for a special hotel on the river, take a look at Tyrol. Hello, cosmopolitan Kufstein. It’s not meant ironically at all, because at the boutique hotel Träumerei, each of the 34 rooms is dedicated to a different destination, the look inspired by Paris, Venice or Copenhagen. The Inn also greets guests with its exciting color palette. And there’s always something incredibly magical and calming about the view of the water.


hotel am fluss Auracher Löchl
© Auracher Löchl

You don’t have to worry about food either. The adjacent Auracher Löchl restaurant serves steaks from the Kfs Argentina Grill. Romantic fans reserve a dinner at the Brückenrestaurant, and for me, the generous wine cellar would have to be prepared for a visit. Check flow speed. Understand.


hotel am fluss Auracher Löchl
© Auracher Löchl

Speaking of bubbly: At the Stollen 1930 Bar, no pranksters were waiting for you, but more than 1,000 different types of gin. Don’t worry: The bartender serves the right tonic for each one. I do celebrate the look from the 1030s. New location for Babylon Berlin, maybe? Anyway, it’s worth a trip even in the here and now. Cheers.

Boutiquehotel Träumerei, stays starting at 200 Euro for two in the romantic package, more via www.auracher-loechl.at/träumerei

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?

Für Verflossene

papa rhein hotel pool wein gentlemens journey

Hotel am Fluss: In diesen vier Locations sitzt ihr Front Row am Wasser. Oder mit Wein hoch oben auf dem Rooftop-Pool mit Blick über den Rhein. In einer fließt unterirdisch Gin. Eh ein fließender Übergang bei diesen Urlaubs-Geheimtipps für nah am Wasser Gebaute.


Nicht euer Ernst.  Mein erster Gedanke, als ich über die Bilder des Douro 41 gestolpert bin. Die Region in Portugal ist eh schon traumhaft. Und jetzt bauen die da ein Design-Hotel ans Ufer, mit einem Bucket List Gedächtnis-Pool obendrauf. Hotel am Fluss. Mit extra LiLaLaune-Becken.  Instagram-Potential müssen wir nicht diskutieren. Bin gespannt, wann die ersten It-Girls ihre kaum inszenierten Bilder in die Snap-Atmosphäre schießen. Aber ich geb’s zu: Ich muss da hin war mein zweiter Gedanke. Und weil drei bekanntlich eine Party sind, hab ich zum fancy Hotel am Fluss noch zwei weitere, etwas näher gelegene rausgesucht. Kufstein oder Bamberg schon auf eurer Reise-Liste?



Hotel am Fluss: vier Mal einchecken mit Wasserblick


Papa Rhein, Bingen

Liebe auf den ersten Schluck hatte ich bei Pfälzer Wein schon öfters, schon letztes Jahr kam eine direkte Hotel-Verliebung auf den ersten Blick dazu, die sofort auf der Bucket List landete und die jetzt wieder ihre Türen öffnet. Als ich das Bild mit dem Blick von oben auf den Pool des Papa Rhein zum ersten Mal sah, war ich direkt geflasht. So ein cooler Spot mitten in dieser spannenden Weinregion. Man sieht sich direkt dort oben, mit einem Glas, in einem großen Edelstahlbottich mit Eiswürfeln lagern Weine der Umgebung, und man hat dort oben mit seinen Weinpartnern in Crime wohl das coolste Tasting, das man sich vorstellen kann. Und wenn ein paar richtig heiße Wein-Entdeckungen dabei sind, geht man einfach kurz in den Pool abkühlen. Ihr merkt: Bilder können Emotionen wecken. Aber zurück zu den Tatsachen am Rhein.


papa rhein hotel pool wein gentlemens journey
©Papa Rhein Hotel

papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Im Papa Rhein heißen die Zimmer „Kojen“ oder Suiten und sind in einem ruhigen, handfesten und modernen Design eingerichtet. Echte Hölzer, helle und sanfte Farben begleiten den Blick aufs Wasser und in die Weinberge.


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Auch in den anderen Räumlichkeiten des Hotels trifft maritimes Design auf weite Ausblicke.


Direkt am Ufer des Rhein ist das Papa Rhein Hotel & Spa ein moderner Abschalt- und Genuss-Hafen zum Anlegen. Der maritime Bezug setzt sich auch bei der Gestaltung von Architektur, Zimmern (den Kojen und Suiten) und Restaurant fort. Einige Kojen sind ausgerichtet zum Winterhafen, einige zum legendären Binger „Mäuseturm“ oder auch in die weiten Rüdesheimer Rheinauen. Die Location ist aber nicht nur Anlegestelle, sondern mit ihrer Lage auch Ausgangshafen für Unternehmungen in der abwechslungsreichen Region des Mittelrheintals. Weinliebhaber können in der für Wein bekannten Region durch zahlreiche Weinberge touren und Wein auf den dazugehörigen Gütern verkosten. Da warten so einige Schätze, glaubt mir. Auch lohnt sich eine Tour zu den nahe gelegenen Burgen, und keine Sorge – in der Umgebung muss man nicht fürchten, dass Geschichte trocken wird.


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Strandfeeling am Fluss? Im Papa Rhein gehört das zur Hausausstattung.


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Küchen-Rundfahrt: Für die kulinarische Kümmerung sorgt sich das Team um Spitzenkoch Nils Henkel.

papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey
©Papa Rhein Hotel

papa rhein hotel pool wein gentlemens journey

Wie viel Fernweh kann man in ein Bild stecken? Dabei liegt beim Papa Rhein das Gute doch unerwartet nah.


Um auf den Urlaub anzustoßen, kann man sich einen Aperol in der Bootshaus-Bar, die ganz im Beachlook gehalten ist, gönnen, oder einem rheinhessischen Riesling auf dem Lido Deck mit schon erwähntem Rooftop-Pool. Schon Appetit bekommen? Kein Problem! Spitzenkoch Nils Henkel kreiert im BOOTSHAUS eine authentisch-moderne Küche vorwiegend mit Produkten aus der Region. So lockt auch die Weinkarte mit besonderen Obstsalaten aus der Umgebung. Und weil schon seit Generationen Waren aus allen Ländern den Fluss hochschippern, legt mit dem LIDO Restaurant & Bar ab 1. Juli 2021 zudem ein italienisches Gastrokonzept im Papa Rhein Hafen an. Ich glaube, die Gerichte flirten ziemlich gut mit den Pfälzer Weinen. Aber das werde ich hoffentlich bald persönlich rausfinden.

Papa Rhein Hotel und Spa, Übernachtung ab Euro, mehr Infos unter www.paparheinhotel.de


papa rhein hotel wein gentlemens journey

Douro 41, Portugal

doura 41 gentlemens journey
© Designhotels

Direkt vor der Haustür die älteste Weinregion der Welt, und ein Infinitypool – stop: zwei Panorama-Pools, von denen man alles im Blick hat. Die Reben, den Douro, und natürlich den Weg zum nächsten Wein-Tasting. Das Doura41 ist echt mit allen Urlaubs-Wassern gewaschen. Mixt charmante Architektur mit direktem Bezug zur Natur. Die Aussichten auf tolle Reise-Erlebnisse könnten hier kaum besser sein, oder? Kein Wunder, dass das ungewöhnliche Fluss-Hotel ein Mitglied der Vereinigung der Designhotels ist. Und da muss man schon an einem strengen Türsteher vorbei.


doura 41 gentlemens journey

Sieht aus wie eine moderne Fluss-Design-Burg aus Ziegel und Glas. Traumhaft.


doura 41 gentlemens journey

Vom Innenpool scheint der Übergang zum Fluss draußen fließend.


hotel am fluss Douro 41
© Douro 41

hotel am fluss Douro 41
© Douro 41

Die Architektur von João Pedro Serôdio ist einem untergeordnet: dem uneingeschränkten Blick auf den Fluss. Schiefer und grau dominieren die 52 Zimmer und Suiten, klare Linien überall. Die Gönnungen aus der Weinkarte genießt ihr an der À Terra Bar & Canteen Weinbar oder dem Porto Club mit Kaminofen. Kann man also auch noch bis zum Winter sparen. Yeay!

Douro 41, Übernachtung ab 145 Euro inkl. Frühstück, mehr unter www.douro41.com



Nepomuk, Bamberg

hotel am fluss hotel nepomuk
© Thomas Paal, Eckerts

Mein bester Freund wohnt mittlerweile in Bamberg.  Keine schlechte Entscheidung, die Stadt hat einiges am Start. Wer gerne in ein Hotel am Fluss eincheckt, muss nicht unbedingt direkt nach London oder Budapest – Oberfranken wirft auch ein nices Ass ins Fluss-Quartett. Mitten in der Altstatt liegt das Nepomuk Hotel mit insgesamt 23 Zimmern. Je nach Wetter dürften dort traumhafte Fotomotive gelingen. Wenn diese Aussicht nicht einladend ist?


hotel am fluss hotel nepomuk
© Thomas Paal, Eckerts
hotel am fluss hotel nepomuk
© Thomas Paal, Eckerts

Und weil es schon mal so gut fließt, könnt ihr nicht nur am Wasser übernachten, sondern im angeschlossenen Restaurant Das Eckerts über der Regnitz dinieren. Oder frühstücken. Fränkische Küche mit fränkischen Preisen. Aussicht: gratis. Fairer Deal. Und näher ans beruhigend plätschernde Wasser kommt ihr kaum. Vielleicht ist ja beim nächsten Besuch der frisch gebackenen Familie kurzfristig ein Zimmer im Nepomuk frei.

Hotel Nepomuk, Bamberg, Übernachtung ab 128 Euro, mehr Infos unter www.hotel-nepomuk.de



Boutiquehotel Träumerei, Österreich

hotel am fluss Auracher Löchl
© Auracher Löchl

Wer ein besonderes Hotel am Fluss sucht, der werfe einen Blick nach Tirol. Hallo, Weltstadt Kufstein. Ist gar nicht ironisch gemeint, denn im Boutiquehotel Träumerei ist jedes der 34 Zimmer einer anderen Destination gewidmet, der Look inspiriert von Paris, Venedig oder Kopenhagen. Dazu grüßt der Inn mit seiner spannenden Farbpalette. Und der Blick aufs Wasser hat eh immer etwas unfassbar magisches wie beruhigendes.


hotel am fluss Auracher Löchl
© Auracher Löchl

Um die Verpflegung müsst ihr euch auch keine Gedanken machen. Im angeschlossenen Restaurant Auracher Löchl gibt’s Steaks vom Kfs-Argentina-Grill. Romantik-Fans reservieren ein Dinner im Brückenrestaurant, und bei mir müsste sich der großzügige Weinkeller auf einen Besuch einstellen. Fließ-Geschwindigkeit checken. Versteht sich.


hotel am fluss Auracher Löchl
© Auracher Löchl

Thema sprudeln: In der Stollen 1930 Bar warteen keine Schalker, aber über 1000 verschiedene Sorten Gin auf euch. Keine Sorge: Der Bartender serviert zu jedem das richtige Tonic. Ich feiere ja den Look aus den 1030ern. Neuer Drehort für Babylon Berlin, maybe? Egal, auch im hier und jetzt eine Reise wert. Cheers.

Boutiquehotel Träumerei, 2 Übernachtung im Paket „romantische Auszeit“ mit 5 Gang-Menü ab 200 Euro, mehr unter www.auracher-loechl.at/träumerei

Weiterlesen: Früher Kirche oder Gefängnis, heute Design-Hotel – coole Locations für den nächsten Urlaub

Folgen:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Looking for Something?