Do I always have to be productive?

Do I always have to be productive?

In quarantine, more and more people are transforming themselves into self-optimus prime on social media. Despite a lot of downtime, life is great and, above all, efficient, all productive. Everything is documented. But: How much do you really live? 


To get as much as possible out of his time: I wanted to write a text on this topic even before Corona. But right now there is no way around this productivity trend. Whether Facebook or Instagram: Everywhere you can find the most creative ways (or challenges or 24/7 documentaries) to communicate that you have to be productive, use your newfound time (read: special times for me), reflect and, in the best case, self-optimize in a generally overhauled way. And with more screen time on your smartphone or tablet, you run the real risk of being dragged along by the wave.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung

Only – a stupid question: Which new time exactly? It’s not like I’m chilling out at home free from obligations and thinking about how to spend my free time as sexy as possible on 30 square meters.


Self-optimization or: Free times change you

During the week I sit in front of the computer until 7 and work as usual. Not that I was any good at math, but when I do the math all week long, I don’t have a single hour more available than in the good old days before this pandemic. That might be possible if I digitize Duckfaces full-time, use Fame for the actual work of photographers and throw product codes around the club. If I have more time now, it will be on the weekend. And that brings us to the point: People expect me to really unwind the program. In the past, the office (read also: the coolest office accessories) sometimes gave me questioning looks, because I didn’t take a bike tour all the way to Tyrol or renovate the apartment.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung
© Gentlemens Journey

Social creation measure

Now the impression is suggested to me that I would have to rearrange my apartment, quickly order a round of new furniture and visibly decorate my new self, should definitely get up early in the morning and start my sports routine, which I can only survive with 4 shakes a day and if I don’t have a smoothie mixer at home, I’ve been living the wrong life anyway. I can use stairs and water boxes as dumbbells and in between I can reset my head, play the right mindset and bang, luck will come by itself.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung

Only: Am I not allowed to do anything? It’s completely impudent to relax at the weekend. Sleep a little longer, put the cell phone aside, don’t document how I look when I get up?


Just don’t let a program run through? Oh yes: Because I simply do it. Of course I’m missing something I can post, but I want to live simply for once. And that goes badly, if I livestream my day with my cell phone in my hand.

Don’t bother me, productive: a heart for the pause button

And no, I think I don’t have to have a guilty conscience when I allow Body & Soul a few do nothing moments. It’s even justified, because especially in these times, besides the daily work hustle and bustle, one still spends energy to acclimatize to the new conditions. There are people out there whose smallest problem is whether they do a few fitness exercises today or tomorrow. They don’t want a new mindset or reduced beauty teas, they don’t itch either – they just want to wake up with their favorite person in the future, no matter where they are.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung

Important: Always keep an eye on yourself.


Trend sport: walk your own way

Trend productive or not: I decided long ago that I’m not here to please everyone. “The others do it too, after all …” was already a shitty argument in kindergarten. For me, pursuing a model efficient life is not something that is good for me. And I take the freedom to stop running along. It may sound lazy, but at least it is not a lazy compromise.

Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Looking for Something?

Muss ich immer produktiv sein?

In Quarantäne transformieren sich auf Social Media immer mehr Menschen zum Selbstoptimus Prime. Trotz viel Stillstand ist das Leben toll und vor allem effizient, alles produktiv. Alles wird dokumentiert. Nur: Wie viel lebt man denn dann wirklich?  


Möglichst viel aus seiner Zeit rausholen: Einen Text zu diesem Thema wollte ich schon vor Corona schreiben. Aber grade jetzt kommt man um diesen Produktivitäts-Trend nicht mehr herum. Ob Facebook oder Instagram: Überall wird auf die kreativsten Weisen (oder mit Challenges oder Alltags-24/7-Doku) vermittelt, dass man produktiv sein muss, die neugewonnene Zeit (lest auch: besondere Zeiten für mich) nutzen muss, mal in sich gehen, reflektieren und im besten Fall einmal sich generalüberholt selbstoptimieren. Und bei mehr Bildschirmzeit am Smartphone oder Tablet läuft man da echt Gefahr, sich von der Welle mitziehen zu lassen.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung

Nur – eine dumme Frage: Welche neue Zeit genau? Es ist doch nicht so, ob ich frei von Verpflichtungen zu Hause chille und überlege, wie ich meine Freizeit auf 30 Quadratmetern möglichst sexy ausübe.


Selbstoptimierung oder: Freizeiten ändern dich

Unter der Woche sitze ich bis 7 vor dem Rechner und arbeite ganz normal. Nicht dass ich ja gut in Mathematik gewesen wäre, aber wenn ich die Woche durchrechne, hab ich keine einzige Stunde mehr zur Verfügung als in der guten alten Zeit vor dieser Pandemie. Das mag vielleicht gehen, wenn ich hauptberuflich Duckfaces digitalisiere, mir für die eigentliche Arbeit von Fotografen Fame einverleibe und Produktcodes durch den Club werfe. Wenn ich jetzt mehr Zeit habe, dann am Wochenende. Und da kommen wir zum Punkt: Gefühlt wird erwartet, dass ich da richtig Programm abspule. Schon früher kamen im Office (lest auch: die coolsten Office-Accessoires) mal fragende Blicke, weil ich keine Radtour bis nach Tirol gemacht habe oder die Wohnung renoviert.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung
© Gentlemens Journey

Social Schaffungsmaßnahme

Jetzt wird mir der Eindruck suggeriert, ich müsste meine Wohnung umstellen, schnell mal eine Runde neuer Möbel bestellen und mein neues Ich auch sichtbar dekorativ darzustellen, sollte unbedingt frühmorgens aufstehen und meine Sport-Routine zu starten, die ich aber nur mit 4 Shakes am Tag überstehe und wenn ich keinen Smoothie-Mixer zu Hause hab, hab ich eh falsch gelebt. Treppen und Wasserkästen kann ich als Hanteln nutzen und zwischendrin meinen Kopf resetten, das richtige Mindset draufspielen und zack, kommt das Glück von ganz alleine.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung

Nur: Darf ich auch mal nichts tun? Völlig dreist mal am Wochenende ausspannen. Mal etwas länger schlafen, das Handy zur Seite legen, nicht dokumentieren, wie ich nach dem Aufstehen aussehe?


Einfach mal kein Programm durchlaufen lassen? Oh doch: Weil ich‘s einfach mache. Natürlich fehlt mir dann etwas, das ich posten kann, aber ich will halt auch mal einfach leben. Und das geht schlecht, wenn ich mit dem Handy in der Hand meinen Tag livestreame.

Produktiv am Arsch: ein Herz für die Pausetaste

Und nein, ich finde, ich muss kein schlechtes Gewissen haben, wenn ich Body & Soul mal ein paar Nix-tu-Momente erlaube. Es ist sogar berechtigt, weil man gerade in der jetzigen Zeit neben täglichem Arbeits-Hustle noch Energie aufwendet, sich mit den neuen Rahmenbedingungen zu akklimatisieren. Es gibt da draußen Menschen, deren kleinstes Problem ist es, ob sie heute oder morgen ein paar Fitness-Übungen machen. Die wollen auch kein neues Mindset oder reduzierte Beauty-Tees, die juckt auch kein #wokeuplikethis – sie wollen nur mit ihrem Lieblingsmenschen in Zukunft weiter aufwachen, egal, wo die gerade sind.


gentlemens journey meinung selbstoptimierung

Wichtig: Immer auch sich selbst im Auge zu haben.


Trendsportart: Nichtmitlaufen

Trend produktiv sein hin oder her: Ich hab schon länger für mich beschlossen, dass ich nicht hier bin, um es möglichst allen recht zu machen. „Die anderen machen dass doch auch …“ war schon im Kindergarten ein Scheiss-Argument. Einem Vorzeige-effizienten Leben nachzulaufen, ist für mich kein Ding, dass mir gut tut. Und die Freiheit, das mitlaufen da einzustellen nehm ich mir. Mag faul klingen, ist aber wenigstens kein fauler Kompromiss.

Facebook Comments
Folge:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Etwas suchen?