Receive, give, use – the secondnd chance. But: how often?

Receive, give, use – the secondnd chance. But: how often?

It’s already a classic quote from films and series: Everyone deserves a second chance. I think so, too. But do others also appreciate it, and, more importantly: How consciously do we deal with it when we get one by ourself?


A wise politician once said: A wise man does not make all mistakes himself. He also gives others a chance. And please: We are all human beings. And we all make mistakes. Only those who make mistakes can learn from them. Be it a crappy hairstyle or never telling the love of your life that she is. Now life just isn’t a computer game where you can restart as often as you want or just jump back to the last matching score. If something happens, it happens. And to travel through time as in “Dark” and give my former self a good slap in the face before I quickly correct what happened is just not possible yet. My 90s self may stay where it is.


gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance

Also Outfits may give one times a second chance. On another day you sometimes simply feel it more.


Whether shards bring good luck or bad luck is up to us

If we messed up, there are two options: Move on, leave the shards on the ground and not be interested in whether someone will clean them up and who. Or: Clean up by yourself and apologize. Granted: That is the essentially challenging option. Jumping over your own shadow (also read: What I’m afraid of) and honestly saying sorry or admitting that you screwed up really takes some effort. And then there are some screw-ups where you ask yourself the question: Do you stop? Or do you continue – and give them another chance?

My best friend and I are still best friends, because over time we both gave each other a (or more) second chance. And it was the absolutely right decision. I gave very good friends a second chance, sometimes incomprehensibly several times in retrospect, who took it for granted – and brought back the same crap a short time later. And when someone interprets friendship so differently, I decided to hang up. A pity about the time together, of course. But if something hurts you, sometimes you have to pull the rip cord.


gentlemens journey meinung  zweite chance

Fashion mistakes? Should be done. It simply takes time to find your own style.


Second chance or: not weighing every chance gram by gram

gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance
© Gentlemens Journey

I think: friendship and relationship is not a balance sheet accounting, where everything has to end up 1:1 and everyone has to give back something they have done immediately and in the same value. Or even better: thinks that the other person would be in his debt with a certain value and you could afford to pay something in the equivalent value without the other person having the right to be angry. With people who have such an attitude, it was not difficult for me to keep the 2nd chance and let it go. The question is: How much are you worth to yourself!


gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance

The only thing you cannot forgive yourself for is not having at least tried.


gentlemens journey meinung zweite chance

Whether you give chances or get chances: You do not know how many more will follow.


The decision for a second chance (or a third one) should never be made on the basis of emotion anyway. I have learned that for myself. Emotions are good, but unfortunately often an impartial advisor. So: It is better to keep your distance for a short time and to clarify this with yourself in peace. I also often ask myself: What would I have done in the place of the other person? And I also often ask myself: Would I have forgiven myself? Would I have said: Hey, let’s forget it, let’s start over? Sometimes I think: no. One person has given me my 4th chance, even if the game was complicated, I’m just grateful for it from deep inside.


gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance
© Gentlemens Journey

To appreciate something is good, it’s one thing. But one must not believe that the giver of chances also feels it telepathically. So get out, overcome your fear and say it clearly, or even better: show it. I also had to learn – or am still in the middle of it. Until time travel is invented, you should take every chance with important people. Or give, when you realize: the remorse is real. If a mistake is forgiven, it is not self-evident. But these are not really good friendships or relationships anyway.

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?

Erhalten, geben, nutzen – die 2.Chance. Nur: wie oft?

gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance

Es ist schon so ein Klassiker-Zitat aus Filmen und Serien: Jeder hat eine 2.Chance verdient. Finde ich auch. Aber wissen das andere auch zu schätzen und, noch wichtiger: Wie bewusst gehen wir damit um, wenn wir eine bekommen?


Ein weiser Politiker hat mal gesagt: Ein kluger Mann macht nicht alle Fehler selbst. Er gibt auch anderen eine Chance. Und please: Wir sind alle Menschen. Und wir machen alle mal Fehler. Nur wer Fehler macht, kann daraus lernen. Sei es eine beschissene Frisur oder der Liebe seines Lebens nie zu sagen, dass sie das ist. Jetzt ist das Leben halt nur kein Computer-Spiel, bei dem man einfach beliebig oft neu starten kann oder einfach zu letzten passenden Spielstand zurückspringt. Wenn was passiert, passiert’s. Und mal schnell wie in „Dark“ durch die Zeit zu reisen und meinem früheren ich eine gediegene Ohrfeige zu verpassen, bevor ich dann schnell das Geschehene korrigiere, ist halt auch noch nicht drin.  Mein 90er-Ich darf da bleiben, wo es ist.


gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance

Auch Outfits darf man mal eine 2.Chance geben. An einem anderen Tag fühlt man es manchmal einfach mehr.


Ob Scherben Glück oder Unglück bringen, liegt an uns

Wenn wir was versemmelt haben, gibt’s zwei Optionen: Weitergehen, die Scherben auf dem Boden lassen und nicht weiter dafür interessieren, ob sie jemand wegmacht und wer. Oder: Selbst aufräumen und entschuldigen. Zugegeben: Das ist die wesentlich herausfordernde Variante. Über den eigenen Schatten springen (Auch lesen: Wovor ich Angst habe) und ehrlich Sorry sagen beziehungsweise einzugestehen, dass man’s verbockt hat, erfordert echt Überwindung. Und dann gibt’s eben Verbockungen, bei denen man sich die Frage stellt: Lässt man es? Oder macht man weiter –und gibt demjenigen noch eine Chance?

Mein bester Freund und ich sind noch beste Freunde, weil wir uns im Lauf der Zeit beide eine (oder mehrere) 2.Chance gegeben haben. Und es war die absolut richtige Entscheidungen. Ich habe sehr guten Freunden eine 2.Chance gegeben, teils im Nachhinein unverständlicherweise mehrmals, die das dann als selbstverständlich genommen haben – und den gleichen Mist kurze Zeit später wieder gebracht haben. Und wenn jemand Freundschaft so anders auslegt, hab ich mich entschieden aufzulegen. Schade um die gemeinsame Zeit, klar. Aber wenn dir was schadet, muss man manchmal die Reißleine ziehen.


gentlemens journey meinung  zweite chance

Mode-Fehler? Sollte man machen. Es dauert einfach, bis man seinen eigenen Stil findet.


2.Chance oder: nicht jede Chance Gramm für Gramm abwiegen

gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance
© Gentlemens Journey

Ich finde: Freundschaft und Beziehung ist keine Bilanzbuchhaltung, bei der sich am Ende alles 1:1 ausgehen muss und jeder etwas Getanes immer sofort im gleichen Wert zurückgeben muss. Oder noch besser: meint, der andere würde mit einem gewissen Wert in seiner Schuld stehen und man könnte sich in dem Gegenwert so einiges leisten, ohne dass der andere das recht hätte, böse zu sein. Mit Leuten, die so eine Einstellungen, fiel es mir nicht schwer, die 2.Chance zu behalten und sie gehen zu lassen. Die Frage ist nämlich: Wie viel man sich selbst wert ist!


gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance

Das einzige, das man sich nicht verzeihen kann, ist es nicht zumindest versucht zu haben.


gentlemens journey meinung zweite chance

Ob man Chancen gibt oder Chancen bekommt: Man weiß nicht, wie viele noch folgen.


Die Entscheidung für eine 2.Chance (oder eine dritte) sollte man eh nie aus der Emotion heraus treffen. Das hab ich für mich gelernt. Emotionen sind gut, aber leider oft ein unparteiischer Berater. Also: Lieber kurz auf Distanz gehen und das in Ruhe mit sich klären. Ich frag mich auch oft: Was hätte ich an Stelle des anderen gemacht? Und ich frag mich auch oft: Hätte ich mir selbst verziehen? Hätte ich gesagt: Hey, abgehakt, starten wir neu? Ich glaube manchmal: nein. Eine Person hat mir mittlerweile die 4.Chance gegeben, auch wenn der Spielverlauf kompliziert war, bin ich dafür einfach von ganz tief drinnen dankbar.


gentlemens journey meinung 2.chance
© Gentlemens Journey

Etwas zu schätzen wissen ist gut, ist das eine. Aber man darf nicht glauben, dass es der Chancengeber auch telepathisch spürt. Also raus, Angst überwinden und es richtig deutlich sagen, besser noch: zeigen. Hab ich auch lernen müssen – oder bin noch mitten dabei. Bis das Zeitreisen erfunden wird, sollte man bei wichtigen Menschen jede Chance nutzen. Oder geben, wenn man merkt: Die Reue ist echt. Wenn ein Fehler verziehen wird, ist das nicht selbstverständlich. Aber das sind wirklich gute Freundschaften oder Beziehungen sowieso nicht.

Folgen:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Looking for Something?